the same old story

perception of women in the media – it’s a topic that is intermittently brought to the fore of the fashion world,

yet nothing ever seems to change.

recently, a friend posted a link of facebook to a trailer for a new documentary called MissRepresentation:

As a women in a predominately male field (I’m actually a scientist, currently completing my PhD in Materials Science and Engineering), I’m especially conscious about how I dress. I want to be respected in my field, but I also have my own distinctly femmine. I generally have what I would consider a modest, sophisticated style (think JCrew – I would own everything on their site if I could), but I also enjoy fun pieces once in a while that can make me a bit self-conscious of how I am presenting myself. I’m tall, so many store-bought garments can be a bit shorter on me. I’m personally fine with wearing a skirt that falls to my mid-thigh (I refuse to wear micro-minis or micro-torn-shorts), I can’t help but wonder how I’m perceived by other people, especially by the male population. I don’t want to be objectified, but I’m afraid that the media has influenced how every one of us thinks in such a way that we don’t even notice it’s presence anymore. But I’m also not going to wear baggy fabric from my neck to my ankles in reaction to the popular media influence. I’ll wear what I feel stylish in and what is comfortable (unfortunately, not always the same thing…) but I never purposefully try to wear something to catch the wrong attention.

{what do you think – does this send a wrong message?}

If I’m noticed by someone, I certainly hope it’s for my personality and maybe my style or what I garments I’m wearing, but never ever only because I have long legs or am wearing a fitted dress. I am working on not judging people based on clothing choices, but I do think that what you choose to wear influences how you are initially percieved. As much as I wish that fact was not true, it’s reality and I’m trying to figure out how to work with it. I dislike the commonly held belief that if you are an intellectual or a scientist, you are not expected to dress well, and if you do dress well, your intelligence is minimized (at least, that’s the impression I get sometimes). How can we change that?? Your intelligence matters, more than what you wear, but what you wear can (but does not always) reflect how much you respect yourself. What does what you wear say about you?

ugh, sometimes I can’t stand how the media portrays my profession:

a well dressed female scientist. why is this the expected male reaction???

I found that picture just googling “female scientist” 😦

sorry if these thoughts are not well articulated, I’m still in the process of working it all out for myself.

eh. this turned into wordy post. here’s a few pics of inspirational street style I found recently:

{a map-print on the blouse!}

{awesome green messenger}

{love love love back details}

——-

also –

a year ago, a friend told me to watch Dreamworlds 3. It changed the way I think about the music industry. Even though I’m not a big music or music video person, it was a convicting documentary and forced me to think more critically to think about the media I consume and support and how it both reflects and influences the culture I live in.  They documentary discusses the clothing women in the videos are wearing, but there are so many more dimensions that are also brought to our attention. I recommend watching it, but be prepared to be offended.

Leave a Reply

