colorful space + fashion

anyone who knows me, knows that I love love love the Hubble Space Telescope.

so, I was really excited when I heard that Christopher Kane created prints for his Resort Wear 2011 collection from Hubble images

I really really really wanted to love this collection, but I just can’t get over the terribly ugly furry shoes and the garments were just not cut in a flattering style. Those three images were about the only ones I began to like. If he had combined the fit of his collection from last year with the pretty prints from this year, I think it would have worked. This collection is just too boxy, too stiff and gathered, and the tall collars are just not attractive. What do you think?

I’ve always wanted to make garments from Hubble images, someday I will. And they will not look like these!

*note that the universe is not really this colorful. Hubble images are false colored, coded by the elemental composition in that area of the universe. science fact for the day 🙂

4 thoughts on “colorful space + fashion

  1. What a fabulous idea. I love the idea of using these space images. And thank you for teaching me my first new fact of the day… I actually did think the colours were real! But then I still believe in fairies!

  2. BTW… the link to the last collection might be broken. I’d be interested to see how different the styles were though I quite like some of the cuts here. Just not the t-shirt tops with the flounce…. bit boyish! 🙂

  3. Pingback: hubble love « {olivia-marie}

Leave a Reply

