Blue Northern Knits

These are two of the few blue items in my knitted collection and represent both an old and new work. I try to vary what colors I knit with so that I don’t get too bored with what I’m knitting ๐Ÿ™‚

This first hat is not from a pattern I made up, but it has been years (made sometime in 2007 I think?), so I can’t find the pattern. I thought it was from knitty.com, but alas, I couldn’t find it there. Regardless, it is a pretty simple beret/slouchy beanie that only requires knits, purls, and yarn overs. The variegated yarn gives it some added depth and complexity, I think.

These mittens have one of my favorite pattern back stories: One of my best friends, Hannah, and I met at NASA Ames and eventually became roommates during one of our summers interning at Ames. We have many similar interests (science, engineering, biking, jcrew, and psych to name a few ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and one of them is knitting. We approach knitting quite differently; I like textures and monochormatic things knitted on reasonable size needles and she loves complicated color patterns on small mittens or large sweaters, knitted on tiny, tiny needles. One of the summers we roomed together, she recieved a norweign knitting pattern book for her birthday, and after looking through it, decided the one pattern she wanted to make was not even given in the book! Instead, I watched her sit for two weeks and squint at the tiny picture of the mittens, counting stitches and transposing the pattern onto a piece of graph paper.

After she finished her pair of mittens and named them the very practical ‘Circle Flower Berry Mittens’ (for they do indeed have circles, flowers, and berries in the motif), she graciously sent me the pattern and I embarked on my first pair of Scandinavian-style mittens!

I did not knit these in the traditional fair-isle fashion, instead carrying the colors around the mittens. This had the great side effect of making them twice as thick as a normal pair of mittens ๐Ÿ™‚ This was my first time working with needles in the size 2 range! Just sizing up on needle size was enough to make the same pattern fit my hands, which are a bit larger than Hannah’s hands.

Would you believe that the original pattern was basically double the width of these?! I’m a tiny bit jealous that Hannah and her fiancรฉ are heading to Norway for their honeymoon and she might get to go to the museum that houses the mittens that inspired this pair!

As usual, thanks to the lovely Stephanie Rubesh for the picture-taking ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Blue Northern Knits

Leave a Reply

